Hast Du eine Idee mit Potenzial, den wissenschaftlichen Informationszyklus zu transformieren? Werde Lib4Science Fellow und entwickle Deine Idee zum Prototyp.

Unsere Fellowships sind offen für

Ideen, Projekte, Verfahren oder Strategien in der Anfangsphase, die

  • mit dem Lebenszyklus von Informationen in Forschung, Wissenschaft und Bildung im Zusammenhang stehen,
  • neue Ansätze hinsichtlich Schaffung, Verbreitung und Bewahrung von Informationen und Wissen aufzeigen,
  • menschliches Lernen und wissenschaftlichen Austausch fördern

Personen, die

  • entschlossen sind, eine Idee weiterzuentwickeln,
  • die Bereitschaft demonstrieren in einem interdisziplinären Team zu kollaborieren und  über ihr Projekt hinaus gemeinsam Neues zu kreieren,
  • global denken und offen gegenüber neuen Perspektiven sind

 

Was bieten wir?

Fellows werden von der ETH Zürich für die Dauer ihres Stipendiums angestellt. Mit dem monatlichen Gehalt, können die Lebenshaltungskosten in Zürich (Schweiz) abgedeckt werden.

Fellows erhalten einen Arbeitsplatz und benötigte Infrastruktur, um sich auf ihre Projekte konzentrieren zu können.

Fellows profitieren von der Zusammenarbeit mit einer exzellenten und vielfältigen Peergroup.

Fellows erleben das inspirierende Innovationsumfeld an einer der besten Hochschulen Europas.

Fellows werden von Mentoren mit langjähriger Erfahrung und unterschiedlichem fachlichen Fokus unterstützt.

Fellows haben Zugang zum Expertennetzwerk des ETH Library Lab und erhalten Training in neuesten Innovationsmethoden.

Fellows erhalten eine Plattform, um ihre Projekte zu kommunizieren und eine echte Chance auf Umsetzung ihrer Ideen.

 

Fellow Projekte können sich innerhalb der folgenden Themenfelder bewegen, sind aber nicht auf diese beschränkt.

Eine der grossen Herausforderungen innerhalb des wissenschaftlichen Informationszyklus ist der Umgang mit Forschungsdaten. Wir unterstützen die Weiterentwicklung von Praktiken, Prozessen, Systeme und Anwendungen die das Potenzial haben, Datensilos und -fragmentierung zu reduzieren sowie die Kohärenz und Nachvollziehbarkeit von Daten zu steigern. Im Fokus steht dabei die Nutzung wissenschaftlicher Daten durch Menschen, Maschinen oder Algorithmen unter gleichzeitiger Gewährleistung des Datenschutzes.

Auf künstliche Intelligenz gestützte Systeme durchdringen immer mehr unseren Alltag. Sie werden auch zunehmend Bestandteil wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens sein. Daraus entstehen neue Nutzungsbedürfnisse, deren Verständnis zentral ist um wissenschaftlicher Informationsinfrastruktur und -services zukunftsfähig zu machen. Wir unterstützen Ideen und Projekte die es ermöglichen, neue bibliotheksnahe Umgebungen, Szenarien der Nutzung und Arbeitsprozesse zu identifizieren, bei denen ein Zusammenspiel der Stärken von Mensch und Maschine zu besserem Ergebnis führt.

Wissenschaftlicher Output entsteht – fast immer – kollaborativ. Wir unterstützen daher Ideen und Projekte, die neue Ansätze des Aufbaus von oder Beitrags zu nicht-kommerziellen digitalen Plattformen für Studierende, Lehrende und Forschende aufzeigen. Diese Plattformen können dazu dienen, zusammenzuarbeiten, sich auszutauschen und Zugang zu wissenschaftlichen Output zu gewähren, während sie gleichzeitig als Schaufenster für individuelle wissenschaftliche Leistung dienen können.

Aktuell ist ein hohes Mass an Kreativität und Innovationskraft rund um Prozesse, Werkzeuge und Plattformen für die Validierung und Verbreitung von wissenschaftlichem Output zu beobachten. Fortschritte rundum das Thema verteilte Technologien und Dezentralisierung – am prominentesten «Distributed Ledger Technologies (DLT)» wie z. B. Blockchain – befeuern diese Entwicklung und erzeugen ein hohes Mass an interdisziplinärem Austausch, dem sich Bibliotheken zunehmend anzuschliessen. Das Lab fördert die Vertiefung dieses Engagements von Bibliotheken an der Schnittstelle von Informationswissenschaft und Wissenschaftskommunikation. Es unterstützt Ideen und Projekte die in diesem Kontext Offenheit, Transparenz und Effizienz vorantreiben.

Unsicher, ob eine Idee oder ein Projekt zum “Lib4Science Fellowship Programme” des ETH Library Lab passt? Kontaktiere uns.

Want to help shape the future of scientific information cycles? Join Lib4Science Fellowship Programme!

What are we looking for?

early-stage ideas, projects, practice or strategies, that

  • relate to the life cycle of information for research and education
  • have the potential to form new approaches towards creation, dissemination, and preservation of information and knowledge
  • foster human learning and knowledge creation
  • depart towards solving actual problems within the scientific work cycle

People who

  • are determined to further develop an idea
  • welcome collaboration and are willing to co-create in an interdisciplinary team
  • think globally and are open to new perspectives
  • share the believe that advancing knowledge is serving the society

What do we offer?

Fellows are employed by ETH Zurich for the duration of their fellowship (three to maximum nine months). They receive a monthly salary sufficient to cover living expenses in Zurich, Switzerland.

Fellows are provided with a working space and infrastructure to be able to focus on their projects.

Fellows get the chance to work with an excellent and diverse peer group.

Fellows will be able to experience the thriving innovation ecosystem around ETH Zurich.

Fellows receive support from mentors with long-standing expertise and from diverse professional backgrounds.

Fellows can take advantage of ETH Library Lab’s expert network and will be trained in methods for problem solving and product development.

Fellows will be offered a platform to promote their projects and a real chance to make their idea happen.

Fellow projects may be related – but not restricted – to the following fields of exploration

One of the big challenges across researchers’ information cycle is dealing with the various stages when managing research data. Within this context, we support ideas and projects with the potential to contribute to practices, models, systems and tools reducing research data fragmentation and silos, increasing data consistency and enabling scientific data use by humans, algorithms and machines while protecting data privacy.

Artificial intelligence-based systems are on the rise and will have a growing influence on scientific work processes. A profound understanding of corresponding scientific needs will be key to the adjustment of existing library infrastructures and services as well as the building of new ones to allow for assistance through augmentation and automation. Therefore, the Lab aims at accelerating the identification of library related environments, use cases and processes where the combined strength of humans and machines can lead to an improved outcome.

Scientific output is – most of the time – generated collaboratively. We support ideas and projects that explore possible ways of building or contributing to non-commercial digital spaces for students, educators and researchers. These spaces offer the opportunity to interact with, create and give access to research objects and results or can serve as a showcase for individual results of work.

Currently, a high level of creativity and innovation regarding processes, tools and platforms for validation and dissemination of scientific knowledge can be observed. These developments are fueled by the latest technological progress, most prominently by distributed ledger technologies (such as blockchain), and continuously spark interdisciplinary discourses that libraries have started to join. The Lab aims at deepening this engagement of libraries at the juncture of information science and scholarly communication. It supports ideas and projects seeking to advance openness, fairness and efficiency within scholarly communication.

Preserving the past and present for the future is an ongoing endeavor that needs joint efforts from many players. Universities as owners of collections, archives and museums have a long tradition of taking on their responsibility to preserve and give access to research objects considered as cultural heritage. We support ideas and projects contributing to a wider use and impact of scientific collections, archives and museums for the benefit of future generations of researchers and society as a whole.

Due to technological progress, students’ learning environments and their related demands and expectations are increasingly diverse. On the one hand, the Lab promotes ideas and projects with the potential to form progressive solutions towards library-facilitated delivery and support for students working on campus, are home based or abroad. On the other hand, it supports general explorations on how information infrastructure and services will need to respond to changing pedagogical concepts and environments within higher education.

Do you have an idea or early-stage project, but do not know if it is a fit with ETH Library Lab’s fellowship program? Just get in touch to discuss it together.